Eat The Leftovers

Standard

One of my favourite quotes from one of my favourite financial personalities is “Live like no one else so later you can live like no one else”. Dave Ramsey is an entertaining and yet truthful radio host in the United States, and I had the honour of meeting him and getting his autograph in Atlanta Georgia in the year 2009. The reason that I love this quote so much is because I believe if someone would take it to heart, it can change the trajectory of anyone’s financial future. 

I personally have a weakness for pizza; and not just any pizza!! The Big Munch combo from Pizza Pizza is my poison of choice. Large pepperoni and bacon crumble pizza with 10 honey garlic wings with extra sauce, pop and dipping sauce …. I could eat one every day. However, because I am full-time student, father, and husband, I am limited to two options: Order pizza and eat like a king for a meal and not feed my kids every other day, or eat the leftovers. Naturally, because I have brain cells I chose the latter. 

To be honest, it’s a lot harder than it sounds. Almost no one gets excited over eating leftovers, least of all me, but my wife and I have a financial plan that we are sticking to for the future of our family, and that requires a lot of leftovers. I believe that by eating the leftovers now, ten years down the road I will be taking my family to the Keg and looking through the whole menu, front to back. We are planning to pay for our kids’ education, half of their first car, and eventually their honeymoon, and this all starts with eating the leftovers. A little bit of sacrifice now will lead to a whole lot more fun later.

Leave a Reply

